Meeting Overview

The Board of Directors of the BC Chamber of Commerce has received correspondence from member chambers of commerce and boards of trade that outlines their concerns regarding the provincial association's development and preparation to launch a new made-in-BC health, dental and retirement plan - the BC Chamber Benefits plan. The objective of the new plan is to present businesses of all sizes with another choice i.e. an employee benefits plan option that offers comprehensive coverage and lower premiums, and member chambers of commerce and boards of trade, including the BC Chamber of Commerce, with greater financial return.

Member chambers of commerce and boards of trade are concerned that their promotion of the BC Chamber Benefits plan will breach promotional requirements established by the existing employee benefits plan provider and jeopardize the non-dues revenue they receive from that provider in return for complying with those promotional requirements.

In response to the requests from some of the member chambers of commerce, the Board of Directors is calling this Special General Meeting to provide financial, strategic and operational context and the rationale for the development of the BC Chamber Benefits plan. As follows:

Date: Thursday, May 23, 2024

Time: 8.00am-10.00am (PDT)

Location: Via video conference

REGISTRATION CLOSES: Wednesday, May 22, 2024, 5:00pm (PDT)

Registration guidance

If you plan to attend the Special General Meeting with your board members and/or colleagues, please email their name, position within your organization and their email to Melissa Pace, Director, Member Experience at

Login information and voting procedures

The BC Chamber of Commerce will send by e-mail to every pre-registered attendee at least one day before the meeting, instructions which will include login information and codes necessary to connect to the meeting, as well as guidance regarding voting procedures.

Voting powers

Member chambers of commerce, boards of trade, corporate members, Fellows and Governors are voting members. Each voting member has one (1) vote.